logo

Fondation Le Refuge

Protecting LGBT+ youths

Description

Recognized as a Public Utility, Le Refuge Foundation shelters and accompanies young LGBT+ people, aged 14 to 25, rejected by their parents, driven out of the family home, because they are homosexual or trans and/or questioning their identity.

Accompanying and housing young gay, lesbian and transgender people in a wandering situation
Because it's not always easy to make the right decisions when you're in a broken situation...

Raison d'être
In France, the lack of response to these distress calls is glaring, especially when we know that the majority of suicide attempts occur during adolescence when these young people find themselves isolated, without a social group to belong to and struggling with real or anticipated rejection from the family environment.

The beneficiaries
These are young people, aged 14 to 25, mostly facing social difficulties and in a situation of family breakdown. Many of them show uneasiness about their homosexuality/transidentity or are in total denial.
It is certain that young people who are discriminated against because of their sexual orientation or their questioning gender identity need specific care and a reassuring, guilt-relieving listening ear... Moreover, we must not forget the prejudices and discrimination they are victims of within the marginalized populations themselves. They do not find their place naturally within the structures of common law accommodation such as the CHRS, as Dimitri testifies: "This environment has destroyed me more than anything else. I wonder if the staff is homophobic, poorly trained in this issue or simply incapable of hearing and understanding it. (Le Monde, September 15, 2005)

The objectives
We offer a multidisciplinary follow-up during which our volunteers accompany the young person welcomed on a daily basis by helping him or her build a life project.
It is a month of withdrawal, of pause, of reflection on the life project that we help him or her build. The young person is sheltered from need. He is surrounded by people who care about him and who do not judge him. They can free their minds and say, "I'm here. What do I do now? What do I decide to do?" If his decision is to reconnect with his parents to try to get back into the home environment, we make contact with the family mediator and with the family. We try to re-establish the relationship, taking into account the wishes of each person. Nothing is imposed. If the young person decides to make a total break with his family and his region of origin, we help him look for a job and housing.

Key numbers

8503

youth accompanied and 2032 youth accommodated since 2003

22

reception facilities in France

187

accommodation places

6000

calls to the hotline in 2019

Discover in video

Discrimination & Violence
Redeem my donation
I don't have a Charitips card yet

Created

2003

Social netwokrs

Discover more charities in:

Discrimination & Violence

Fondation Le Refuge

Aider cette association
Je n’ai pas encore de carte

Protéger les jeunes LGBT+

Description

Reconnue d’Utilité Publique, la Fondation Le Refuge héberge et accompagne les jeunes LGBT+, âgés de 14 à 25 ans, rejetés par leurs parents, chassés du domicile familial, parce qu’ils sont homosexuels ou trans et/ou en questionnement identitaire.

Accompagner et héberger les jeunes gays, lesbiennes et personnes transidentitaires en situation d’errance
Parce qu’il n’est pas toujours facile de prendre les bonnes décisions quand on est en situation de rupture…

Raison d’être
En France, l’absence de réponse à ces appels de détresse est criant, surtout quand on sait que la majorité des tentatives de suicide surviennent au cours de l’adolescence alors que ces jeunes gens se trouvent isolés, sans groupe social d’appartenance et aux prises avec un rejet réel ou anticipé de la part du milieu familial.

Les bénéficiaires
Ce sont les jeunes, âgés de 14 à 25 ans, majoritairement confrontés à des difficultés sociales et en situation de rupture familiale. Nombreux sont ceux qui manifestent un mal-être vis-à-vis de leur homosexualité/transidentité ou sont dans le déni le plus total.
Il est certain que les jeunes victimes de discrimination du fait de leur orientation sexuelle ou de leur identité de genre en questionnement ont besoin d’une prise en charge spécifique et d’une écoute rassurante et déculpabilisante… De plus, il ne faut pas oublier les préjugés et les discriminations dont ils sont victimes au sein même des populations marginalisées. Ils ne trouvent donc pas leur place naturellement au sein des structures d’hébergement de droit commun tels les CHRS, comme en témoigne Dimitri accueilli dans un centre de réadaptation psychosociale : « Ce milieu m’a plus détruit qu’autre chose. Je me demande si le personnel est homophobe, mal formé à cette problématique ou simplement incapable de l’entendre et de la comprendre. » (Le Monde, 15 septembre 2005)

Les objectifs
Nous proposons un suivi pluridisciplinaire au cours duquel nos bénévoles accompagnent le jeune accueilli au quotidien en l’aidant à construire son projet de vie.
C’est un mois de retrait, de pause, de réflexion sur le projet de vie que nous l’aidons à construire. Le jeune est à l’abri du besoin. Il est entouré par des gens qui se préoccupent de lui et qui ne le jugent pas. Il peut libérer son esprit et peut se dire : « J’en suis là. Qu’est-ce que je fais maintenant ? Qu’est-ce que je décide de faire ? » Si sa décision est de reprendre contact avec ses parents pour essayer de réintégrer le milieu familial, nous prenons contact avec la médiatrice familiale et avec la famille. Nous essayons de renouer les liens en tenant compte de la volonté de chacun. Rien n’est imposé. Si le jeune décide de faire une rupture totale avec sa famille et sa région d’origine, nous l’aidons à chercher un travail et un logement.

Chiffres clés

8503

jeunes accompagnés et 2032 jeunes hébergés depuis 2003

22

dispositifs d'accueil en France

187

places d'hébergement

6000

appels sur la ligne d'urgence en 2019

Découvrir en vidéo

Lutte contre les discriminations et violences
This is some text inside of a div block.

Création

2003

Découvrez d’autres associations dans : 

Lutte contre les discriminations et violences
Aucune autre association dans cette catégorie pour le moment... Revenir à la liste des associations